Blogs > The Full-Court Press

Welcome back to the Trentonian's Full-Court Press blog. Yes, we're still alive, and with the 2015-16 season rapidly approaching, it's time to fire up the old blog for another season. Check back here throughout the year for updates on all things Rider and Princeton, including coverage of both the MAAC and Ivy League. Feel free to drop me a line on twitter @kj_franko ( or email

Friday, February 5, 2016

Rider Gameday: at Niagara

Who: Rider (9-14, 5-7) at Niagara (6-17, 4-8)

When: Friday, 7 p.m., “Taps” Gallagher Center, Niagara Falls, N.Y.

Radio: 107.7 FM The Bronc

Last Time Out: Rider lost to Manhattan, 65-57; Niagara lost to Quinnipiac, 82-68

Series History: Niagara holds a 21-20 edge in the 41 all-time meetings. The two schools split the games a year ago, each winning on the road. The Broncs have won the last three at the Gallagher Center with their lost loss there the infamous clock game. 

Scouting Niagara: The Purple Eagles have lost five of six with the lone victory coming against bottom-feeder Marist. NU is a capable opponent at home, especially if Matt Scott and Emile Blackman get rolling. Scott is sixth in the MAAC in scoring (16.9 ppg) and Blackman torched Rider last season in Lawrenceville for 30 points. All four of the Purple Eagles’ league victories have come at home.

Scouting Rider: The Broncs had a three-game winning streak snapped last time out. They had a 55-53 lead with four minutes remaining, but couldn’t string stops together. That’s four games — both Fairfield contests, at Siena and at Manhattan —where Rider has lost a game it probably should have won. The Broncs continue to roll with an eight-man rotation, spearheaded by guard Teddy Okereafor, who leads the team in scoring (14.3 ppg).

Thompson Honored: Jason Thompson is heading into the Rider Hall of Fame. The NBA-veteran, who finished his career in Lawrenceville as the program’s third all-time leading scorer and top rebounder, will spearhead the 2016 class. Also being inducted are Jim McKeown (baseball), Kein Connolly (baseball), Don Fisch (wrestling) and Sarah Artale (soccer). The ceremony will be in June.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home