Blogs > The Full-Court Press

Welcome back to the Trentonian's Full-Court Press blog. Yes, we're still alive, and with the 2015-16 season rapidly approaching, it's time to fire up the old blog for another season. Check back here throughout the year for updates on all things Rider and Princeton, including coverage of both the MAAC and Ivy League. Feel free to drop me a line on twitter @kj_franko ( or email

Thursday, April 22, 2010

All-Met teams

Meant to post this earlier, then that all-too-pesky print edition got in the way:

For the third straight year, a Thompson was named first-team all-Met. For the second straight year, that Thompson was Ryan, who joined Player of the Year Charles Jenkins of Hofstra; Seton Hall's Jeremy Hazell; LIU's Jaytornah Wisseh and Stony Brook's Muhammed El-Amin on the first team.

Stony Brook's Steve Pikiell was named Coach of the Year, while Fordham's Chris Gaston beat out Fairfield's Derek Needham for Rookie of the Year.

Needham, though, was named to the third team along with Wesley Jenkins and Rico Pickett. Anthony Johsnon, a first-team all-MAAC pick, was named to the second team.

The full list of honorees is below:

FIRST TEAM: Charles Jenkins, Hofstra, 6-3, jr, G, Queens, N.Y.; Jeremy Hazell, Seton Hall, 6-5, jr, G, Harlem, N.Y.; D.J. Kennedy, St. John’s, 6-5, jr, G-F, Pittsburgh; Ryan Thompson, Rider, 6-6, sr, G, Mt. Laurel, N.J.; Jaytornah Wisseh, LIU, 6-1, sr, G, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Muhammad El-Amin, Stony Brook, 6-5, sr, G, Lansing, Mich.

SECOND TEAM: Hamady Ndiaye, Rutgers, 7-0, sr, C, Dakar, Senegal; Mike Rosario, Rutgers, 6-3, so, G, Jersey City, N.J.; Anthony Johnson, Fairfield, 6-8, sr, F, Lake Wales, Fla.; Herb Pope, Seton Hall, 6-8, so, F, Aliquippa, Pa.; Scott Machado, Iona, 6-1, so, G, Queens, N.Y.; Chris Gaston, Fordham, 6-7, fr, F, Palisades Park, N.J.

THIRD TEAM: Rico Pickett, Manhattan, 6-4, jr, G, Decatur, Ala.; Derek Needham, Fairfield, 5-11, fr, G, Dolton, Ill.; Sean Baptiste, FDU, 6-3, sr, G, No. Brunswick, N.J.; Noruwa Agho, Columbia, 6-3, so, G, New City, N.Y.; Wesley Jenkins, St. Peter’s, 6-2, jr, G, Newark, N.J.; Travis Taylor, Monmouth, 6-8, so, F, Union, N.J.

Haggerty Award player of the year: Charles Jenkins, Hofstra.

Rookie of the year: Chris Gaston, Fordham.

Coach of the year: Steve Pikiell, Stony Brook.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home